Five ATL Records to Listen for in December

GG King - Unending DarknessHere we are nearing the end. 2014 rushing headlong toward its conclusion. Soon there will be a flood of year-end lists to wade through—including our own—and we’ll all spend some moments clumsily trying to make sense of what transpired and try to breathe it all in one more time before 2015 arrives to steal us into the future.

But before we make that leap, there’s still some business at hand, some more music to absorb and take account of starting with the long-awaited GG King record that’s been threatening to surface for months and that will finally see the light of day this Saturday night (you can stream it now via Bandcamp). Elsewhere, we have a pair of promising side projects stepping forward; first Suffer Dragon (featuring members of Faun and a Pan Flute) and then Semicircle (members of Reptar) will unveil new music in the coming weeks and try to expand on the already diverse bodies of work their respective bands have delivered in the past. And finally, if you’re a fan of psych-tinged garage rock and punk, Lowbanks and Sex BBQ will have the hookup for you next Tuesday. It’s a short list, but a potentially strong one that could provide a jolt of momentum as we head into the new year.

Suffer Dragon

Suffer Dragon - Good Golf

Release Date: December 5
Label: Staring at the Ceiling

Release Info:
Experimental rock duo Suffer Dragon is prepping the release of their debut EP, Good Golf, via Staring at the Ceiling. The seven-song effort will be available on cassette and digital download.

Suffer Dragon will celebrate the release of Good Golf on Friday, December 5th at Mammal Gallery. Supporting them will be Half Acid and Ginko. Doors open at 8 p.m. $5 gets you in.

Good Golf
01. No Suffer, No Cry
02. All the Small Things pt.2
03. Thinking Picnic
04. That Shines
05. Surfer Dragon Guy (On a Raincloud)
06. Lil Pup’s Space Fantasy
07. I Can Grow My Hair Out(Side)

More Info:

GG King - Unending Darkness

GG King - Unending Darkness

GG KING – Unending Darkness
Release Date: December 6
Label: Scavenger of Death

Release Info:
Officially, GG King’s new LP, Unending Darkness, came out last month, but the vinyl release is on Saturday, so here we are. The twelve-song effort can also be downloaded via Bandcamp.

GG King will celebrate the release of Unending Darkness on Saturday, December 6th at 529. Supporting them will be PAMPERS, Predator, Waste Layer and Uniform. Doors open at 9 p.m. $7 gets you in.

Unending Darkness
01. Unending Darkness
02. Standing in the Light
03. Another Dimension
04. Lord of the Manor
05. Leigh
06. Squandered Magic
07. Vacuum Cleaner
08. Mephitic Hallways
09. Satan’s Puppet
10. Infected
11. In the Mirror
12. Picnic Destinations for Unimaginative People

More Info:


Semicircle - Blown Breeze, Grown Grass and We are Part of the Earth

SEMICIRCLE – Blown Breeze, Grown Grass and We are Part of the Earth
Release Date: December 9
Label: Self-released

Release Info:
Indie duo Semicircle will release their first LP, Blown Breeze, Grown Grass and We are Part of the Earth, on December 9th.

Blown Breeze, Grown Grass and We are Part of the Earth
01. Southern Spring
02. Mechanism of Erasure
03. Movement is Calm
04. No Words
05. Underground River of Grass
06. Remember Me
07. Easier
08. Stranger
09. Untitled
10. Part of the Earth

More Info:


Lowbanks - The Dogs

Release Date: December 9
Label: Self-released

Release Info:
Garage-rock trio Lowbanks will unveil their sophomore EP, The Dogs, on December 9th. The six-song effort will be available on CD and via digital download.

The Dogs
01. The Dogs
02. Street Rat
03. Sleep For Days
04. Run Yr Mouth
05. She’s the Worst
06. Treatz

More Info:


Sex BBQ - Sex Noir City

SEX BBQ – Sex Noir City
Release Date: December 9
Label: Self-released

Release Info:
The debut LP from psych-punks Sex BBQ is set for a December 9th release. The eleven-song effort will be available on CD, cassette and digital download.

Sex Noir City
01. Fantasma
02. Derailed
03. Concrete Disciples
04. Future Simon
05. Locus of Control
06. Powerlines Pt. 1
07. Wake Up
08. Empty Shells
09. Courtney Stodden
10. Powerlines Pt. 2
11. Sex And Weed

More Info: